Connect with us

Sports World

World Cup 2022 Play-Off Draw: Portugal And Italy Have Been Drawn In The Same Group For The 2022 World Cup Play-Offs





There are 12 European nations still clinging to dreams of making it to Qatar, but only three of those will be successful,

Only one of Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal and Euro 2020 winners Italy will book their place at World Cup 2022, with the two heavyweight nations staring at one another in a potential final matchup with a spot in Qatar on the line.

Portugal will face Turkey while Italy will take on North Macedonia in their semi-final play-off matchups, with the winners of those games set to collide in the Path C finale. The winner of that finale will go to Qatar, with the loser missing out on the World Cup.

British hopefuls Scotland and Wales are going to need to get through Ukraine and Austria in order to keep their dreams of reaching the finals in Qatar alive, with the winners of those games facing off in the Path A finale.

Elsewhere, Zlatan Ibrahimovic will be hoping to edge a step closer to gracing another major international tournament when Sweden take on Czech Republic, while Russia must overcome Poland in Path B.

World Cup 2022 play-off draw

PathSemi-final matchup
AScotland vs Ukraine
AWales vs Austria
BRussia vs Poland
BSweden vs Czech Republic
CItaly vs North Macedonia
CPortugal vs Turkey

What has been said?

“It’s a very difficult draw for us,” said Italy boss Roberto Mancini, “because North Macedonia is a good team and if we win, we have to play away to Turkey or Portugal in the final. It’s very strong.”

How does the format work?

The 12 remaining teams battling it out for three places at Qatar 2022 have been split into three paths of four nations.

Six semi-finals will take place in total, with the winners of those moving on to finals that will determine the remaining qualifiers.

When will the matches take place?

The semi-finals will be played on March 24 and 25 in 2022, with the finals being held on March 28 and 29.

Who has already qualified?

Ten countries have already progressed through the group stage of UEFA qualification.

They are Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Croatia, England and Germany.

Elsewhere, Brazil and Argentina have booked their places at the finals alongside hosts Qatar.



Skip to toolbar