Uhuru Revokes IEBC Selection Panelist Appointment


  • President Uhuru Kenyatta has obeyed orders issued by High Court judge Justice Odunga and revoked the appointment of Dorothy Jemator as the Law Society of Kenya (LSK) representative to IEBC’s election panel

    Uhuru, on Wednesday, May 26, through Gazette Notice no.5091 appointed Morris Kimuli in place of Jemator. 

    “In Exercise of the powers conferred to me, I appoint Morris Kimuli to be a member of the selection panel for the selection of nominees for the appointment of members of IEBC.

    “The appointment of Kimengech Dorothy Jemator is revoked,” Uhuru ordered. 

    President Uhuru Kenyatta reading documents in his office

    President Uhuru Kenyatta in his office at Harambee House, Nairobi


    Justice Odunga, on May 11, overturned the appointment of Jemator and ordered National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi to instead receive the nomination of Morris Kimuli. 

    Jemator had been accused of holding two offices as a judicial officer and the latest appointment to the selection panel of the BBI steering committee. 

    She had been appointed to serve as a member of the Energy and Petroleum Tribunal in 2020 for a period of three years and she was also a member of the HIV and AIDS Tribunal.

    “If the court has found there to be a breach of duty, a mandatory order may be granted if in all the circumstances that appears to the court to be the appropriate form of relief,” Odunga ruled. 

    A few days earlier, on April 28, High Court judge Justice Antony Mrima restrained Jemator from assuming her role as LSK representative at the IEBC selection committee, minutes before she was sworn into office until the case filed against her was heard. 

    Over 700 Kenyans applied for four commissioner jobs at IEBC. Successful applicants will be vetted by the selection committee before their names are forwarded to President Uhuru Kenyatta for appointment. 

    Members of the selection committee include Dr Elizabeth Muli, Gideon Solonka, Awori James Achoka, Elizabeth Odindo Meyo, Joseph Ngumbi Mutie and Suleiman Abdalla. new appointee Morris Kimuli will be sworn in at a later date.  

    EBC Chairperosn Wafula Chebukati addressing a crowd on Oct 22, 2018

    EBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati at a conference held on October 22, 2018


The post Uhuru Revokes IEBC Selection Panelist Appointment appeared first on CmaTrends.


Leave a Comment on CmaTrends

Next Post

Southeast Asian Nations Oppose Arms Embargo On Myanmar – Report

Fri May 28 , 2021
Nine Southeast Asian countries have urged the United Nations not to endorse a freeze on arms sales to Myanmar, according to a report from Benar News. The report by the affiliate of the U.S.-funded Radio Free Asia, quoted a Liechtenstein diplomat as saying the nine states wrote a letter to […]