Connect with us


Samuel L Jackson, Danny Glover, others to honorary Oscars




Actors Samuel L Jackson and Danny Glover, Norwegian actress Liv Ullmann, and actress-director Elaine May will receive honorary Oscars ahead of the main 2022 gala. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences made the announcement on Thursday.

In a statement, the Academy stated Jackson, May, and Ullmann will receive honorary statuettes ahead of the Oscars. Meanwhile, Glover will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the Governors Awards on January 15.

“We are thrilled to present this year’s Governors Awards to four honorees who have had a profound impact on both film and society,” said Academy President David Rubin.

Glover, 74, first earned widespread recognition on the big screen in Steven Spielberg’s adaptation of The Color Purple (1985). He then starred opposite Mel Gibson in the popular Lethal Weapon cop buddy films.

“Danny Glover’s decades-long advocacy for justice and human rights reflects his dedication to recognising our shared humanity on and off the screen,” Rubin said.

Jackson, 72, has appeared in dozens of films. He also earned an Oscar nomination for his indelible turn in Quentin Tarantino’s Pulp Fiction (1994). 

He has appeared in multiple Marvel films as the eyepatch-wearing onetime SHIELD boss, Nick Fury. The actor also wielded a lightsaber in the Star Wars universe as Jedi master Mace Windu. Furthermore, he delivered an unforgettable line in Snakes on a Plane.

Ullmann, 82, was introduced to international audiences in Ingmar Bergman’s Persona. She went on to make many films with the Swedish director. She earned two Oscar nominations for best actress in the 1970s.

Rubin said her “bravery and emotional transparency gifted audiences with deeply affecting screen portrayals.”

May, 89, achieved great success through her comedy partnership with Mike Nichols. She went on to earn Oscar nominations for writing the screenplays for Heaven Can Wait and Primary Colors.

She also directed several films including A New Leaf, The Heartbreak Kid and Ishtar.

“Elaine May’s bold, uncompromising approach to filmmaking, as a writer, director and actress, reverberates as loudly as ever with movie lovers,” Rubin said.

The post Samuel L Jackson, Danny Glover, others to honorary Oscars appeared first on CmaTrends.