Connect with us

Kenyan News

Parliament approves five names for TSC Commissioner Jobs





Total Views : 1,128

Parliament has approved the appointment of five individuals who were nominated as members of the Teacher Service Commission (TSC).

The National Assembly’s Department Committee on Education and Research on Wednesday, September 1, 2021 tabled its report after vetting the nominees before the parliament.

The five nominees whose names were approved by parliament  include; Nicodemus Ojuma Anyang, Christine Kahindi, Sharon Jelagat, Annceta Wafukho and Salesa Adano Abudi.

The report was debated in Parliament after which it approved the appointment of the five commissioners for the TSC job

The names of the five were approved by the National Assembly in pursuant to the Article 250 (2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 8 (8) of the TSC Act, 2012 and 8 of the Public Appointments Act, 2011.

The five nominees will officially be appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta before they are sworn in. Newly appointed commissioners will be hired on contract and will serve a non-renewable six-year term.

This is after the TSC had received 299 applications following the  advertisement for the vacancies. However, the TSC selection panel only selected 35 names then shortlisted 12 individuals whose names were submitted to the president for nomination.

President Kenyatta nominated the five names and forwarded them to the Department Committee on Education and Research for vetting. Majority Leader Amos Kimunya observed that the five represented the diversity in terms of age, gender and demographics.

Kimunya lauded the five nominees, terming them as qualified and a lot that would not let down the commission as they had received adequate education.

“Today, I am very happy, and I really want to commend the panel that recommended these names to the president so that he is not stray-jacked into choosing from a group that was not fitting,” Kimunya stated.

The National Assembly Majority leader also recognised Annceta Wafukho who is a former member of parliament for her nomination. Kamunya and Wafukho worked together in the National Assembly Committee for Education.

The Parliament also approved the appointment of four nominees as commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC). Juliana Whonge Cherera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit, and Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya were nominated by the president for vetting by the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee.

The post Parliament approves five names for TSC Commissioner Jobs appeared first on CmaTrends.

Click to comment

Leave a Comment on CmaTrends