Connect with us


Jane Campion’s ‘The Power of the Dog’ Leads 2021 AWFJ Nominations




Jane Campion’s “The Power of the Dog” led the nominations from the Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ). The emotional western was nominated for best film, director, adapted screenplay, and in acting and craft categories.

With 25 individual categories, the awards are divided into three sections: the standard “best of” section, the “Female Focus” awards and “EDA Special Mentions.” Women dominated the “best of” section, with three of the five slots occupied by women.

Rebecca Hall’s “Passing” was the second most-nominated film, landing nine nominations, and Maggie Gyllenhaal’s “The Lost Daughter” scored eight.

“2021 has been a surprisingly great year for films, especially for female-directed films, as is indicated by AWFJ’s EDA Award nominees,” said AWFJ and EDA Awards founder Jennifer Merin. “Our list of eligible films exceeds 700, and we’re thrilled to see so many of them directed by women and femme-centric. We hope the trend will continue and we will continue to recognize and honor the best with our annual EDA Awards and those we present at festivals, and with our Movie of the Week feature on”

The 2021 EDA Awards winners will be announced in early January 2022.

See the full list of nominees:

Best Film

“Licorice Pizza”
“The Lost Daughter”
“The Power Of The Dog”

Best Director

Paul Thomas Anderson – “Licorice Pizza”
Kenneth Branagh – “Belfast”
Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog”
Maggie Gyllenhaal- “The Lost Daughter”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain – “The Eyes Of Tammy Faye”
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter”
Lady Gaga – “House Of Gucci”
Kristen Stewart – “Spencer”
Tessa Thompson – “Passing”

Best Actress In A Supporting Role

Jessie Buckley  – “The Lost Daughter”
Ann Dowd – “Mass”
Kirsten Dunst – “The Power Of The Dog”
Aunjanue Ellis – “King Richard”
Ruth Negga – “Passing”

Best Actor

Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Power Of The Dog”
Peter Dinklage – “Cyrano”
Andrew Garfield – “Tick, Tick…boom!”
Will Smith – “King Richard”
Denzel Washington – “The Tragedy Of Macbeth”

Best Actor In A Supporting Role

Jamie Dornan – “Belfast”
Troy Kostur – “Coda”
Ciaran Hinds – “Belfast”
Jesse Plemons – “The Power Of The Dog”
Kodi Smit-McPhee – “The Power Of The Dog”

Best Screenplay, Original

“Being The Ricardos” – Aaron Sorkin
“Belfast” – Kenneth Branagh
“Don’t Look Up” – Adam Mckay
“Licorice Pizza” – Paul Thomas Anderson
“Mass” – Fran Kranz

Best Screenplay, Adapted

“CODA” – Sian Heder
“Dune” – Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth
“The Lost Daughter” – Maggie Gyllenhaal
“Passing” – Rebecca Hall
“The Power Of The Dog” – Jane Campion

Best Documentary

“Summer Of Soul”

Best Animated Film

“The Mitchells Vs The Machine”
“Raya And The Last Dragon”

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

“Belfast” – Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann
“The French Dispatch” – Douglas Aibel, Antoinette Boulat
“The Harder They Fall” – Victoria Thomas
“King Richard” – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
“The Power Of The Dog” – Nikki Barrett, Tina Cleary, Carmen Cuba, Nina Gold

Best Cinematography

“Belfast” – Haris Zambarloukos
“Dune” – Greig Fraser
“Passing” – Eduard Grau
“The Power Of The Dog” – Ari Wegner
“The Tragedy Of Macbeth” – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing

“Belfast” – Una Ni Dhonghalle
“Don’t Look Up” – Hank Corwin
“Dune” – Joe Walker
“The Power Of The Dog” – Peter Sciberras
“West Side Story” – Sarah Broshar, Michael Kahn

Best Non-English-language Film
“Drive My Car”
“A Hero”
“I’m Your Man”

EDA Female Focus Awards

Best Woman Director

Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog”
Julia Dudournau – “Titane”
Maggie Gyllenhall – “The Lost Daughter”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”
Sian Heder – “CODA”

Best Woman Screenwriter

Jane Campion – “The Power Of The Dog”
Maggie Gyllenhaal – “The Lost Daughter”
Rebecca Hall – “Passing”
Sian Heder – “CODA”
Maria Schrader – “I’m Your Man”

Best Animated Female

Mirabel, Stephanie Beatriz – “Encanto”
Katie, Abbi Jacobsen – “The Mitchells Vs The Machine”
Raya, Kelly Marie Tran – “Raya And The Last Dragon”
Giulia, Emma Berman – “Luca”
Sisu, Awkwafina – “Raya And The Last Dragon”

Best Woman’s Breakthrough Performance

Ariana Debose -“West Side Story”
Alana Haim – “Licorice Pizza”
Emilia Jones –  “CODA”
Renate Reinsve – “The Worst Person In The World”
Rachel Zegler – West Side Story”

Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry

Victoria Alonzo For Her Achievements At Marvel Studios
Maya Cade For Establishing The Black Film Archive
Anna Serner For 20 Years Of Female-forward Work At The Swedish Film Institute

EDA Special Mention Awards

Grand Dame Award For Defying Ageism

Dame Judi Dench
Ms. Rita Moreno
Dame Diana Rigg

Most Egregious Lovers’ Age Difference Award

“The Many Saints Of Newark” –  Ray Liotta and Michela Derossi (38 Years)
“Red Rocket” – Simon Rex and Suzanna Son (21 Years)
“The Hitman’s Wife’s Bodyguard” – Salma Hayek and Samuel L. Jackson (21 Years)
“Nightmare Alley” – David Strathairn and Toni Collette (22 Years)
“Licorice Pizza” Alana Haim and Cooper Hoffman (10 Years)

She Deserves A New Agent Award

Amy Adams – “The Woman In The Window” and “Dear Evan Hansen”
Melissa Mccarthy – “The Starling”
Chloe Grace Moretz – “Tom And Jerry”

Most Daring Performance Award

Sandra Bullock – “The Unforgivable”
Olivia Colman – “The Lost Daughter”
Ruth Negga – “Passing”
Renate Reinsve – “The Worst Person In The World”
Agatha Rouselle –  “Titane”

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award

“The Boss Baby: The Family Business”
“Ghostbusters: Afterlife”
“Space Jam: A New Legacy”
“Tom And Jerry”

AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award
Gina Carano, Nicki Minaj and Letitia Wright for using celeb status for anti-vax propaganda
Producers, crew and cast of “Rust” for not following proper safety protocol and causing the tragic death of cinematographer Halyna Hutchins
Warner Bros for contributing to Mel Gibson’s resurgence by hiring him to direct “Lethal Weapon 5”

Tobi is a reserved individual, loves making friends and a top-notch web developer. Currently, he's working as a freelancer for