BREAKING: UEFA announces punishments for Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal


UEFA have asked the six Premier League teams who tried to join the European Super League, to make a combined €15million (£13m) goodwill contribution to benefit children’s and grassroots football across Europe.

They will also see 5 per cent of UEFA competition revenues withheld for one season.

The six clubs – Arsenal, Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur and Manchester City – have signed a UEFA ‘club commitment declaration’ after backing down in their breakaway bid.

And they each face a €100million (£87m) fine if they ever attempt another coup.

AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid have also climbed down in committing to existing international and national club competitions.

An official UEFA statement read: “Those nine clubs acknowledge and accept that the Super League project was a mistake and apologise to fans, national associations, national leagues, fellow European clubs and UEFA.

“They have also recognised that the project would not have been authorised under UEFA Statutes and Regulations.”

However, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus, have refused to renounce the Super League.

UEFA insists it will take “appropriate action” against the trio.


Leave a Comment on CmaTrends

Next Post

EPL: Thomas Tuchel confirms player to miss Man City vs Chelsea game

Sun May 9 , 2021
Chelsea boss, Thomas Tuchel, has confirmed the player expected to miss his side’s Premier League clash against Manchester City on Saturday evening. Tuchel said Mateo Kovacic remains sidelined through injury and will miss Chelsea’s away Premier League tie against Man City at Etihad. Tuchel said this on Friday during his […]